This is an archive of a past election.
See for current information.
Alameda County, CA November 4, 2008 Election
Smart Voter Additional Endorsements for Kerry Hamill

Candidate for
Councilmember At-Large; City of Oakland

This information is provided by the candidate

Jerry Brown - Former Oakland Mayor, Current CA State Attorney General
Elihu Harris - Former Oakland Mayor & 16th A.D. Assemblymember
Don Perata - Senate President pro Tem
Nancy Skinner - 14th A.D. Assemblymember Elect
Dion Aroner - Former 14th A.D. Assemblymember
Wilma Chan - Former 16th A.D. Assemblymember
Sheila Jordan - Alameda County Superintendent of Schools

Jane Brunner - Oakland City Council
Henry Chang, Jr. - Oakland City Council
Ignacio De La Fuente - Oakland City Council President
Patricia Kernighan - Oakland City Council
Jean Quan - Oakland City Coucil, President Pro Tempore
Larry Reid - Oakland City Council
Dick Spees - Former City Council Member
Danny Wan - Former City Council Member

The Globe Newspaper

George Holland - President of the Oakland NAACP
Arabella Martinez - Former US Commerce Secretary, & Founder of Spanish Speaking Unity Council

Betty Olson-Jones - President Oakland Education Association
Sheila Quintana - Former Oakland Education Association President
Jacki Fox Ruby - President, Alameda County Board of Education Trustee, District 1
Bill Riley - Peralta Community College District Trustee

Chris Dobbins - Oakland School Board Member
Noel Gallo - Oakland School Board Member
Greg Hodge - Oakland School Board Member
Jumoke Hinton Hodge - Oakland School Board Member Elect
David Kakishiba - Oakland School Board President
Alice A. Spearman - Oakland School Board Member
Gary Yee - Oakland School Board Member
Jason Hodge - Former Oakland School Board Member
Ken Rice - Former Oakland School Board Member

Elsa Ortiz - AC Transit Board of Directors

Eva Agular - Mayor's Commission on Aging
Bobbie Bonds - Mayor's Commission on Aging
Yui Hay Lee - Oakland Planning Commissioner

Gilda Gonzales - Unity Council CEO

Bishop Bob Jackson
Reverend Wortham Fears - Patton College
Reverend David Kitely - Shiloh Christian Fellowship Church
Reverend Joe Smith - Good Hope Missionary Baptist Church
Bay City Baptist Minister's Union

AFSCME - Local 3993
International Brotherhood of Teamsters + Local 70
Laborers' International Union of Northern California- Local 304
Oakland Education Association
Oakland Firefighters - Local 55
OPOA - Oakland Police Officers Association
Operating Engineers - Local 3
Pipe Trades Association - Local 342
United Brotherhood of Teamsters - Local 70

Annalee Allen - Historical Preservation Writer
Jon Ball - VP Hensel Phelps Construction Co.
Viola Gonzales - Oakland Community Leader
Kathy Kahn - Montclair Community Leader
CJ Hirschfield - Executive Director Children's Fairyland
Brooke A. Levin - Rockridge Community Leader
Susan Montauk - Rockridge Community Leader
Terry Sandoval - Oakland Public School Leader
David A. Stein - Attorney, Past President Oakland Rotary
Phil Tagami - Oakland Businessman
Christopher Waters - North Oakland Communtiy Leader
R. Zachary Wasserman - Attorney - Wendel, Rosen, Black & Dean LLP
Ellen Wyrick - West Oakland Community Leader

  • Titles for Identification Purposes Only

Next Page: Position Paper 1

Candidate Page || Feedback to Candidate || This Contest
November 2008 Home (Ballot Lookup) || About Smart Voter

The League of Women Voters does not support or oppose any candidate or political party.
Created from information supplied by the candidate: October 30, 2008 12:11
Smart Voter   <>
Copyright © League of Women Voters of California Education Fund