This is an archive of a past election.
See for current information.
LWV logo League of Women Voters of California
Smart Voter logo
San Luis Obispo County, CA November 7, 2000 Election
Harbor Commissioner; Port San Luis Harbor District Voter Information

4 Year Term.

Results as of Nov 29 2:31pm
75.5% Voter Turnout (49450/65538)
Candidates (Vote for 3)
Click on a candidate name for more information.

Carolyn Moffatt 21197 votes 23.80%

  • Occupation: Commissioner
  • Resident of San Luis County for 34 years and with husband, Floyd, raised two sons
  • Commissioner, Port San Luis Harbor District since 1988; President of the Commission 1990, 1993-94,1998-99.-
  • Natural Resource Chairman, League of Women Voters San Luis Obispo 1982-1988.
  • Currently represent Special Districts of San Luis Obispo County on the Local Agency Formation Commission (LAFCO)
  • A productive port that provides for coastal dependent employment and recreational opportunities to all social /economic levels of the public
  • High standards of environmental quality that are essential for the sustainable biological resources and safe enjoyment of coastal recreation.
  • Economic sustainability that is assured through day to day efficiency, longterm planning for major projects and additional/diverse sources of revenue.
Jack Scarbrough 18209 votes 20.45%
  • Occupation: Commissioner
  • Police Chief of Grover Beach-5 years
  • Lucia Mar School bus driver-23 years
  • Port San Luis Harbor Patrol-23 years
  • I am committed to keeping Port San Luis a viable harbor supporting commercial & recreational fishing.
  • I support all areas that will ensure coastal access to provide a variety of recreational opportunity such as kayaking, canoeing, scuba diving,etc.
  • Point San Luis Lighthouse restoration, Central Coast Salmon Enhancement, Port San Luis Marine Institute & the Halibut tournement
James B. "Jim" Blecha 17443 votes 19.59%
  • Occupation: Marine Biologist
  • County resident since 1976
  • Kept a boat on a Port San Luis mooring since 1976
  • Served 4 terms as Port San Luis Harbor District Commissioner
  • Served three (1) year terms as Commission Chair
  • Insure Port remains a fully functional, viable working harbor
  • Secure long-term, independent, dependable revenue sources
  • Assure continued compliance with existing regulations relating to environmental quality
Drew Brandy 13113 votes 14.72%
  • Occupation: Incumbent
  • Cal Poly, San Luis Obispo, BS Natural Resources Management , 1974
  • Fish & Game Warden : Marine Patrol
  • Port San Luis Harbor Commissioner 1996 - present
  • Arroyo Grande City Council person - 1992 - 1996
  • Repair Harford Pier
  • Solicit input from Avila Valley Advisory Coucil, Avila Beach Community Service District, and citizens on future development of District property
  • Inner - tidal zone restoration
Jay A. Coakley 6571 votes 7.38%
(This candidate has not responded to SmartVoter.)
  • Occupation: Marina Construction Manager
Paul Robert Bain 4922 votes 5.53% Priorities:
  • Transformation of the Harbor Terrace property into a public campground; 100% opposition to the original hotel plan.
  • Creation of artificial surfing reefs around Avila Pier; Mobilization of volunteers to keep our beaches clean.
  • Increased focus on the economic benefits of a pleasure cruise industry, particularly during times of fishing restrictions.
Wayne King 4010 votes 4.50%
(This candidate has not responded to SmartVoter.)
  • Occupation: Retired
James Lowrie 3399 votes 3.82%
(This candidate has not responded to SmartVoter.)
  • Occupation: Nuclear Operator

Basic candidate data supplied by the County elections official. Order of candidates is random and changes daily.

League's Candidates' Forum 10/30/00
Thursday October 30, 7:00 pm
PG&E Community Center
6588 Ontario Rd., San Luis Obispo
Suggest a link related to this contest
Links to sources outside of Smart Voter are provided for information only and do not imply endorsement.

Home (Ballot Lookup) || About Smart Voter || Feedback

Created: January 25, 2001 02:39
Smart Voter 2000 <>
Copyright © 2000 League of Women Voters of California Education Fund.
The League of Women Voters neither supports nor opposes candidates for public office or political parties.