This is an archive of a past election.
See for current information.
Alameda County, CA November 7, 2006 Election
Smart Voter Additional Endorsements for Abel Guillen

Candidate for
Trustee; Peralta Community College District; Trustee Area 7

This information is provided by the candidate

Peralta Federation of Teachers PAC

SEIU Local 790

Operating Engineers Local 39

Central Labor Council of Alameda, AFL-CIO

Oakland Tribune

San Francisco Bay Guardian

Wellstone Democratic Renewal Club

East Bay Young Democrats

Metropolitan Greater Oakland (MGO) Democratic Club

East Bay For Democracy Democratic Club

Chicano Latino (CALDO) Demos

Progressive Democrats of the East Bay

Progressive Majority

OakPAC: Oakland Metropolitan Chamber of Commerce

Green Party of Alameda County

League of Youth Voters

Dolores Huerta, Co-founder, United Farm Workers*

Hon. Nancy Nadel, Council Member, Oakland City Council*

Hon. Nicky Gonzalez Yuen, Peralta Community College Board of Trustees*

Hon. Cy Gulassa, Peralta Community College Board of Trustees*

Hon. Bill Withrow, Peralta Community College Board of Trustees*

Marlene Hurd, Student Trustee, Peralta Community College Board*

Reginald James, Student Trustee, Peralta Community College Board*

Folasade Scott, Vice-President, Associated Students of Laney College*

Hon. Carole Migden, State Senator

Hon. Gil Cedillo, State Senator

Hon. Jacki Fox Ruby, Vice-President, Alameda County Board of Education*

Hon. Felix Elizalde, Alameda County Board of Education*

Hon. David Kakishiba, President, Oakland Board of Education*

Hon. Noel Gallo, Director, Oakland Board of Education*

Hon. Chris Dobbins, Director-elect, Oakland Board of Education*

Hon. John Selawsky, President, Berkeley School Board*

Hon. Dona Spring, Council Member, Berkeley City Council*

Hon. Dave Brown, West Contra Costa Unified School District Board of Education*

Hon. Ana Apodaca, Council Member, Newark City Council*

Hon. Rebecca Garcia, 1st Vice Chair, California Community College Trustees Board of Directors*

Hon. Nancy Skinner, Board Member, East Bay Regional Park District*

Diana Lara, President, SEIU Local 790 - Peralta Chapter

Pamela Price, Political Coordinator, SEIU Local 790 - Peralta Chapter

Greg Marro, Chief Steward, SEIU Local 790 - Peralta Chapter

Jim Rickman, Immediate Past President, SEIU Local 790 - Peralta Chapter

Efren Alarcon, President, ILWU Local 6*

Lucy Sells, Immediate Past Regional Director, California Democratic Party*

Mal Burnstein, Co-Chair, California Democratic Party Progressive Caucus*

Frank Russo, Past Chair, Alameda County Democratic Party*

Joel Fried, Chair, 16th Assembly District Democratic Committee*

Brian Powell, Board Member, People United for a Better Oakland (PUEBLO)*

Ces Rosales, Board Member, National Center for Lesbian Rights*

Karoleen Feng, Project Manager, East Bay Asian Local Development Corporation (EBALDC)*

Rona Fernandez, Development Director, Californians for Justice*

Trina Villanueva, Board Member, Filipinos for Affirmative Action*

Barbara Montgomery, Commissioner, Citizens' Police Review Board*

Manuel Alcala, Transfer Center Director, Laney College*

Andrew Dumas, School Senator, Merritt College*

Helene Maxwell, Disabled Students Program Coordinator, College of Alameda*

Stan Peters, Athletic Director (retired), Laney College*

Ron Grant, Instructor, Merritt College*

Eva Camerena, Union Organizer, SEIU Local 616*

Mia Barber, Executive Director, Association of African American Professionals*

Grace Caroll, Educational Consultant

Sele Hayes-Nadel, Community Activist

Hector Preciado, Board Member, San Francisco League of Women Voters*

Hilary Crosby, Vice President, El Cerrito Democratic Club*

Jessica Hilgart, Immediate Past President, East Bay Young Democrats

Edie Irons, President, East Bay Young Democrats

Karen Weinstein, Co-Chair, Berkeley-Albany-Emeryville United Democratic Campaigns*

Janet Stromberg, President, East Bay for Democracy Democratic Club

Michael Kaufman, Treasurer, Wellstone Democratic Renewal Club

Teresa Limon, Community Activist

Michael McBride, Pastor, The Way Christian Center*

Rev. Dr. Elston "Ricky" Perry, Church of the Good Shepherd*

John O'Toole, Executive Director, National Center for Youth Law*

Deborah Escobedo, Youth Law Center*

Tom Ahn, Director of Programs, Bay Area Youth Fund for Education*

Antonio Cediel, Principal, Emery Secondary School*

Yvette Renteria, Principal, Oakland Unified School District*

Norman Buchwald, Librarian, Chabot College*

Lily Leung, Librarian

Paul Delehanty, Progressive Blogger (Kid Oakland)

Arnold Chandler, Researcher, PolicyLink*

Marc-Tizoc Gonzolez, Community Lawyer, East Bay Community Law Center*

Letitia Henderson-Souza, College Outreach, UC Berkeley*

Rudolph Herrera, Case Manager, Donald P. McCullum Youth Court*

Amanda Brown-Stevens, Field Director, Greenbelt Alliance*

Jose Ramirez, K-12 Outreach Coordinator, Cal Corps Public Service Center*

Nora Sandoval, Student Affairs Officer, UC Berkeley*

Ken Turman, Advisor, UC Berkeley*

Marco Gonzalez, Leadership Prinicipal, West Contra Costa Unified School District*

Chris Vaeth, Director of Special Programs, Greenlining Institute*

Elvia Villalobos, Assistant Director of the Incentive Awards Program, U.C. Berkeley*

Dan Kalb, Environmental Policy Advocate, Union of Concerned Scientists*

Gene Hill, Executive Director, Imperial Valley College Foundation*

Lorenzo Garcia, Votantes Unidos/Voters United*

Mary Barlow, Superintendent, Kernville Union School District*

Dr. Ken Bergevin, Superintendent, Arvin Union School District*

  • =Organization named for identification purposes only

Candidate Page || Feedback to Candidate || This Contest
November 2006 Home (Ballot Lookup) || About Smart Voter

The League of Women Voters does not support or oppose any candidate or political party.
Created from information supplied by the candidate: November 3, 2006 20:21
Smart Voter   <>
Copyright © League of Women Voters of California Education Fund