This is an archive of a past election.
See for current information.
LWV League of Women Voters of California
Monterey, San Benito, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz Counties, CA November 5, 2002 Election
Smart Voter Additional Endorsements for Simon Salinas

Candidate for
Member; California State Assembly; District 28

This information is provided by the candidate

(Partial List of State & National Endorsements)

California Faculty Association
Los Angeles Police Protective League
California Professional Firefighters
California Association of Highway Patrolmen
California State Firefighters' Association Inc.
California Labor Federation AFL-CIO
South Bay Labor Council, COPE
California Federation of Teachers
California Teachers Association
California Correctional Peace Officer Association
California State Employees Association
Los Angeles County Probation Union, AFSCME, Local 685
Registered Nurse Professionals Association
Association of Los Angeles Deputy Sheriffs
American Federation of State, County and Municipal Employees (AFSCME)
La Raza Roundtable- San Jose
Legislative Latino Caucus
Planned Parenthood Advocates Mar Monte
Association of California School Administrators
National Association of Social Work
California Organization of Police & Sheriffs (COPS)
California Teamsters Public Affairs Council
Salinas Valley Builders Exchange

Endorsing Leaders
(partial list)

Congresswoman Zoe Lofgren
Congressman Mike Honda
Congressman Sam Farr
Honorable E. Leon Panetta
Former Senator Henry J. Mello
Assemblymember Elaine Alquist
Assemblymember Joe Simitian
Assemblymember Rebecca Cohn
Assemblymember Manny Diaz
Assemblymember John Dutra
Former State Parks Director Rusty Areias

Ron Gonzales, Mayor of San Jose
Anna Caballero, Mayor of Salinas
Alan Styles, former Mayor of Salinas
Oscar Rios, former Mayor of Watsonville
Richard Ortiz, Mayor of Soledad
Joe Ledesma, former Mayor of Soledad
Dave Potter, Monterey County Supervisor
Edith Johnsen, Monterey County Supervisor
Fernando Armenta, Monterey County Supervisor
Lou Calcagno, Monterey County Supervisor
Sam Karas, former Monterey County Supervisor
Tony Campos, Santa Cruz County Supervisor
Rita Bowling, San Benito County Supervisor
Bob Cruz, San Benito County Supervisor
Henry Solorio, former San Benito County Supervisor
Ruth Kesler, San Benito County Supervisor
Blanca Alvarado, Santa Clara County Supervisor
James T. Beall, Jr., Santa Clara County Supervisor
Peter McHugh, Santa Clara County Supervisor
John Huerta, Greenfield Councilmember
Yolanda Teneyuque, Greenfield Councilmember
Maria Orozco, Gonzales Councilmember
Peggy Corrales, Hollister Councilmember
Pauline Valdivia, Hollister Councilmember
Ken Duran, former Hollister Councilmember
Peter Arellano, Gilroy Councilmember
Charlie Morales, Gilroy Councilmember
Margarita Lopez, King City Councilmember
Jan Collins, Salinas Councilmember
Gloria de la Rosa, Sailnas Councilmember
Jyl Lutes, Salinas Councilmember
Janet Barnes, Salinas Councilmember
Ernesto Gonzalez, former Salinas Councilmember
Cindy Chavez, San Jose Councilmember
David Cortese, San Jose Councilmember
Ana Ventura Phares, Watsonville Councilmember
Rafael Lopez, Watsonville Councilmember
Chuck Carter, Watsonville Councilmember
Ramon Gomez, Watsonville Councilmember
Francisca Gonzalez, former Alisal School Board of Trustees
Marta Granados, former Alisal School Board of Trustees
Gary Karnes, Alisal School Board of Trustees
Amado Gonzalez, former Alisal School Board of Trustees
Maria Murillo, former Alisal School Board of Trustees
Eizabeth Florez, Chualar Elementary School Trustee
Rosa Manriques, Chualar Elementary School Trustee
Jane Mendoza, former Gonzales Union High School Trustee
Rosemary Kamei, Santa Clara Water Board Director
Jaime Rosso, Gilroy Unified School Board Trustee
Elvira Robinson, Gavilan Community College Trustee
Maria Fuentes, Evergreen Community College Trustee
Nancy Pyle, Evergreen Community College Trustee
Timoteo Vasquez, former Evergreen Community College Trustee
Darlene Dunham, Hartnell Community College Trustee
Valerie Golden, Hartnell Community College Trustee
John D. Martinez, Hartnell Community College Trustee
Liz Sanchez, Hartnell Community College Trustee
Joey Lasnik, former Hartnell Community College Trustee
Connie Sonico, former Hartnell Community College Trustee
Ray Diaz, Greenfield School Board Trustee
Lourdes Villarreal, Greenfield School Board Trustee
Vicki-Mora Escobar, former Soledad Union School Board Trustee
Alonzo Gonzalez, Gonzales Union School Board Trustee
Rudy Asunsolo, King City Union School Board Trustee
Diana Jimenez, North Monterey County Unified School Board Trustee
Phillip Tabera, Salinas Union High School Board Trustee
Matt Bogoshian, Former Salinas Union High School Board Trustee
Mikie Solorio Luna, Hollister Resident
Brad Pike, Hollister Resident

Candidate Page || Feedback to Candidate || This Contest
November 2002 Home (Ballot Lookup) || About Smart Voter

The League of Women Voters does not support or oppose any candidate or political party.
Created from information supplied by the candidate: October 2, 2002 15:42
Smart Voter   <>
Copyright © League of Women Voters of California Education Fund