California State Government November 3, 1998 General
Smart Voter

Additional Endorsements for Ming William Chin

Candidate for
California Supreme Court


This information is provided by the candidate

Partial List of Bipartisan Endorsements for Justice Chin
as of October 13, 1998

Constitutional Offices and Candidates for Constitutional
Offices, including:

Governor Pete Wilson
Former Governor George Deukmejian
Lt. Governor Gray Davis (Candidate for Governor)
Assemblyman Cruz Bustamante (Candidate for Lt. Governor)
Treasurer Matt Fong (Candidate for U.S. Senate)
Controller Kathleen Connell
Supervisor Ruben Barreles (Candidate for Controller)
Deputy Attorney General Dave Stirling (Candidate for
Attorney General)
State Senator Bill Lockyer (Candidate for Attorney General)
Phil Angelides (Candidate for State Treasurer)
Insurance Commissioner Charles Quackenbush
Assemblywoman Diane Martinez (Candidate for Insurance
Delaine Eastin, Superintendent of Public Instruction
Former California Secretary of State March Fong Eu

Members of Congress, including:

U.S. Senator Diane Feinstein
U.S. Senator Barbara Boxer
U.S. Representative Anna G. Eshoo
U.S. Representative Vic Fazio
U.S. Representative Robert Matsui
U.S. Representative George Miller
U.S. Representative Nancy Pelosi
U.S. Representative (Retired) Norman Mineta

35 Members of the State Legislature, including:

Senator Pat Johnston
Senator Quentin Kopp
Senator Jack O'Connell
Senator Richard Rainey
Assembly Speaker Anthony Villaraigosa
Assembly Speaker pro Tempore Sheila Kuehl
Assemblyman Nao Takasugi
Assemblyman Jim Cuneen

California Supreme Court, including:

Chief Justice Ronald M. George
Justice Marvin Baxter
Justice Janice Rogers Brown
Justice Joyce L. Kennard
Justice Stanley Mosk
Justice Kathryn M. Werdegar
Justice (Retired) John A. Arguelles
Chief Justice (Retired) Malcolm M. Lucas
Justice (Retired) Frank Richardson


25 Appelate Court Justices
130 Superior Court Judges
94 Municipal Court Judges

Law Enforcement and Legal Communities, including:

26 District Attorneys, including:
Kern County District Attorney Ed Jagels
Alameda County District Attorney Tom Orloff
Los Angeles County District Attorney Gil Garcetti

16 Police Chiefs, including:
San Francisco Police Chief Fred Lau
Oakland Police Chief Joseph Samuels, Jr.

5 Sheriffs, including:
Los Angeles County Sheriff Sherman Block
Sacramento County Sheriff Glen Craig
Sacramento County Sheriff Elect Lou Blanas

City Attorneys, including:
Los Angeles City Attorney James K. Hahn
San Francisco City Attorney Louise H. Renne

U.S. Marshall Jerry Enomoto, Department of Justice

Editorial Endorsements of:

Conta Costa Times
San Francisco Chronicle
San Jose Mercury News

The Judicial Evaluation Committee of the Cal. Republican
Bay Area Women Against Rape
California District Attorneys Association
Association of Deputy District Attorneys - Los Angeles
Consumer Attorneys of California
Association of California Tort Reform
Crime Victims United of California
Peace Officers Research Association of California
Women Prosecutors of California
Asian-American Bar Association of the Greater Bay Area
Alameda County Bar Association
Alameda County Family Law Association
Association of Defense Counsel of Northern California
Beverly Hills Bar Association
Deputy Sheriff's Association of Alameda County
27 Past Presidents of the Alameda County Bar Association

Local Government Officials, including:

19 Mayors, including:

Los Angeles Mayor Richard Riordan
San Francisco Mayor Willie Brown, Jr.

31 County Supervisors

Leading Citizens and Organizations, including:

Former Secretary of State George Schultz
Mary Bergan, President, California Federation of Teachers
California Chinese American Republican Association
Bay Area Hispanic Republicans Association
Teamsters' Joint Council 7
Women Lawyers of Alameda County
Republican Lincoln Club of San Diego County
Leandro Duran, President, East Bay La Raza Lawyer's
Jay Folberg, Dean, University of San Francisco - School of
Chang-Lin Tien, Former Chancellor, University of California
- Berkeley
Bruce Wolk, Dean, University of Califonia - Davis - School
of Law
Kenneth J. Vandevelde, Dean, Thomas Jefferson School of Law
Herma Hill Kay, Dean, University of California - School of
Enrique Chiock, President & CEO, American Lung Association,
L.A. County
Walter Shorenstein, Chairman Emeritus, The Shorenstein
James N. Roethe, Executive VP & General Counsel, Ban

Next Page: Full Biography

Candidate Page || Feedback to Candidate || This Race
November 1998 Home (Ballot Lookup) || About Smart Voter

Created from information supplied by the candidate: October 14, 1998 08:59
Smart Voter '98 <>
Copyright © 1998 League of Women Voters of California Education Fund.
The League of Women Voters neither supports nor opposes candidates for public office or political parties.